

Canberra, July 11-13, 2017

Professional learning in the Australian capital!

Make your way to Canberra for the 26th Biennial Conference of the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers

In July 2017, our nation's capital will be reverberating to the sounds of people sharing their ideas, experience and enthusiasm for mathematics and mathematics teaching. Join Australian and international colleagues to share, discuss and learn about current trends, issues and events in mathematics education at this premier professional event.

Be inspired by our keynote speakers: Peter Neumann (England), Rhonda Faragher (Aust.), Christine Franklin (USA), and Chris Wetherell (Aust.).

This year the conference will be hosted at the National Convention Centre Canberra. Located 7km from the airport, the National Convention Centre is just a few minutes' walk from the city centre. There are a range of accommodation options nearby, with easy access to Canberra's cultural institutions, parks, shops and restaurants. Join us for the President's Reception on the evening of Tuesday July 11. Enjoy local and regional produce for morning tea, lunch, and afternoon tea, each day of the conference.

Sign up for the conference excursion to **Questacon**, **Australia's National Science and Technology Centre**, on Wednesday 12. Questacon promotes a greater awareness and understanding of science and technology with engaging, interactive exhibits.

A great strength of the AAMT Biennial Conference is the program of parallel sessions in which teachers and others share their work. If you are interested in presenting a seminar or workshop as part of the professional program, submit your offer to present with your online registration form. Presentation offers are due by 3 March 2017.





Keynote speakers



Dr Peter M. Neumann

Dr Peter M. Neumann is a university mathematician. In 1962, his parents, Drs Bernhard and Hanna

Neumann, migrated from Manchester to Canberra to work at the ANU as professors of mathematics. Hanna was instrumental in the foundation of the AAMT and Bernhard served as its first President, Peter has been awarded. prizes for his research in Algebra and its history, and for his writing and teaching. He contributed to the foundation of the UK Mathematics Trust, serving as its first chairman. Peter has served as Vice-Chairman of the London Mathematical Society, President of the British Society for History of Mathematics, and President of the Mathematical Association, In 2008, he was appointed OBE for services to education. In retirement he continues teaching at Oxford University.



Dr Rhonda Faragher

Dr Rhonda Faragher is a Senior Lecturer in Inclusive and Special Education at The University of Queensland.

With a background in secondary mathematics teaching, she developed an interest in supporting students with learning difficulties, and went on to focus on Down sundrome. She has undertaken research in mathematics education working closely with practitioners. She chairs the Down Sundrome Special Interest Research Group of IASSIDD, and is a board member of the IASSIDD Academy, a trustee of Down Syndrome International and a board member of Down Syndrome Australia. She is a past president of QAMT. Rhonda has received a number of awards for her work including the 2016 ACU Vice-Chancellor's Medal for Staff Excellence.



Dr Chris Wetherell

Dr Chris Wetherell is Head of Mathematics at Radford College in Canberra, where he has been teaching for

ten years. After a foray into electrical engineering at The University of Adelaide, his passion for abstract mathematics lead him to teaching at The Australian National University and ANU Senior Secondary College (now ANU Extension). More recently Chris has worked as a volunteer for the Australian Mathematics Trust (AMT), developing enrichment opportunities such as the Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC) and the Computational and Algorithmic Thinking Competition. He has been a moderator of secondary papers for the AMC, a member of the AMC Problems Committee and ACT State Director for the Australian Mathematical Olympiad Committee.



Prof. Christine Franklin

Christine (Chris) Franklin is the Lothar Tresp Honoratus Honors Professor and Senior Lecturer Emeritus in Statistics

at the University of Georgia, and a Fellow of the American Statistical Association. She has co-authored two statistics books and published numerous journal articles and book chapters. Among other achievements, Chris was a 2014–15 Fulbright Scholar based at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. She is the recipient of an array of awards including the Mu Sigma Rho National Statistical Education Award, the United States Conference on Teaching Statistics (USCOTS) biennial lifetime achievement award, and the ASA prestigious Founders Award. In 2016. Chris begins serving as the K-12 Statistics Ambassador for the American Statistical Association.

Registration

AAMT member \$795 Non-member \$955 Concession \$695 1 day registration \$365

Special deal for local primary schools

See the Fees & Payment Options page on the conference website.

A late fee of \$150 applies for registrations received after 1 May 2017.

Delegates will need to book their own travel and accomodation. However, the conference website has some suggestions.

http://tiny.cc/aamt2017



For more information and to register go to http://tiny.cc/aamt2017